This page can be found on the web at the following url:

Click here to skip navigation
An Official Web Site of the United States Government
Saturday, February 23, 2019

News & Events

Recipients of the Inaugural PMF Honorary Awards Program for 2018

Posted on 2018-09-26T13:45:00

As part of the redesign of the PMF Program, we have realized that we need to do more in recognizing and honoring the many people who are part of the PMF Community, bringing their talent and passion to make sure the program is successful. Our community is one of the driving forces that has enabled the PMF Program to withstand the test of time, and will help it thrive for the next 40 years and beyond.

And so, starting this year, the PMF Program has instituted an annual PMF Honorary Awards Program, to make sure we recognize past and present Federal civil servants who have been instrumental to the lasting success of the PMF Program. Presenting the awards for the very first time during the 40th Anniversary celebration of the Program is also a very special moment, allowing us to share our recognition and thanks across the PMF community.

The PMF Program Office solicited requests for nominations for 6 categories and received 98 nominations total from across the Federal Government and PMF Alumni community. 

The Awards Selection Committee was made up of a mix of leadership and thought leaders at OPM who then reviewed and evaluated each nomination based on a pre-determined set of criteria. Once evaluations were completed, the Awards Selection Committee provided their final recommendation to the Director’s Office at OPM for final approval. All recommended nominees were then vetted and cleared by their agency counterparts.

The following identifies the recipients of the Inaugural PMF Honorary Awards Program for 2018.  The awards were conducted at the end of the PMF Program’s 40th Anniversary Celebration on September 20, 2018.

1.  2018 Agency PMF Coordinator of the Year

Stephanie Dunson, Public Health Analyst / PMF Program Lead, Population Health Workforce Branch, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

The Awards Selection Committee has chosen Stephanie Dunson as this year’s recipient as she has demonstrated exceptional customer service to the PMF community but also ensures that every Fellow’s voice is heard by using innovative methods to empower the PMF Community.

2.  2018 Coach/Mentor of the Year

Sheila Moynihan, Senior Advisor with Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy International, International Affairs, U.S. Department of Energy

The Awards Selection Committee has chosen Sheila Moynihan as this year’s recipient as she has not only committed her time and knowledge to PMFs but has consistently strived to find win-win solutions to the problems her mentees may be facing.

3.  2018 Supervisor/Hiring Manager of the Year

Ali Feizollahi, Supervisory Economist, Research, Applied Analytics, Statistics, Internal Revenue Service, U.S. Department of the Treasury

The Awards Selection Committee has chosen Ali Feizollahi as this year’s recipient as he has aims to get to know Finalists personally during the interview process and meets with Fellows one-on-one in an informal boot camp to help guide them through their new position.

4.  Excellence in Service

Linda Wilson, PMF Program Manager, U.S. Agency for International Development

The Award Selection Committee has chosen Linda Wilson as this year’s recipient as she has been a strong proponent of the PMF Program by creating her own communications and marketing material to raise awareness of the Program, created a training program for managers hiring PMFs, and has developed innovative approaches to recruiting diverse talent of Fellows within her agency.

5.  Excellence in Leadership

Thomas Liu, Deputy Regional Director, Pacific Outer Continental Shelf Region, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, U.S. Department of the Interior

The Awards Selection Committee has chosen Thomas Liu for leading by example, and for his innovative methods of strengthening the PMF Community within his agency by creating a recurring PMF rotation to bring DC-based PMFs out to the California Regional Office.

6.  2018 PMF Alumnus of the Year

William Gillen, PMI 1978, who retired as the Special Assistant to the Deputy Director for Science Management, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

The Awards Selection Committee has chosen William Gillen for his multi-decade commitment to the PMF Program. His journey began 40 years ago when he was selected as a member of the 1st class of Presidential Management Interns and has consistently and diligently recruited, trained and developed incoming PMFs and found creative ways to enhance their experience. As such, he has helped reinvigorate the PMF Program within NIH by making the PMF’s 2-year fellowship a critical springboard for their next opportunities.

In addition, the PMF Program Office took the time to honor and recognize their colleague, Mr. Rob Timmins. Rob has been a dedicated and steadfast member of the PMF Program office for over two decades. Without Rob’s tireless dedication, service and commitment to the PMF Program and its principles of leadership and inspiring the call to service, the PMF Program would not be here today and the legacy that the PMF Program has provided across government would not be nearly as profound.  And so, to recognize his outstanding dedication and lasting contributions to the PMF Program, Mr. Timmins was presented with a Distinguished Service award.

Congratulations to the 2018 recipients!